January 20 - Wednesday
Smart Gilas Philippines vs Al Jezira Egypt 9PM Dubai | 1AM Manila



Original Source: RNHALAWI.COM

Smart Gilas Pilipinas kept its cool amid dirty plays and “homecourt calls" as it eked out an emotional 79-72 victory over a rough Al Nasr of the UAE Monday night to reach the quarterfinals of the 21st Dubai Invitational at the Al Ahli Indoor Stadium.

Read the whole report of GMANews.TV

85 - 82

GAMES TODAY:
5PM Dubai \ 9PM Manila Zain Jordan vs Pilipinas Gilas
7PM Dubai \ 11PM Manila Jalaa Syria Vs Champville Lebanon
9PM Dubai \ 1AM Wehda Vs Mahram Iran

We watched Smart Gilas Pilipinas won against Lebanon 77-71 live at Al Ahli Stadium, Dubai. It was a close game from tip-off til the last 2 minutes.

Great all around game from Gilas this time. Jamal Sampson, still limping, played few minutes, grabbed crucial rebounds and tip-ins. Chris Tiu played almost the entire 40 minutes. Great leadership by the lad. JV Casio hit 6 crucial FTs in the dying seconds. 3 offensive rebounds in less than a minute secured the win for us. Japeth Aguilar, used sparingly, had a highlight 2-handed follow-up dunk off a miss by Barroca. Tiu led Gilas with 15 points.

Fhadi El Khatib singlehandedly does all for Lebanon, scored 35 - the only double-digit scorer for the team. Noticeably though, the heftier Lebanese (excepth El Khatib) hesitates to drive inside despite having the height advantage. Their import, who was only used by 3rd Quarte was a non-factor in both sides of the court.

Geat cheering Pinoy crowd too! All of us are dancing to 'Bebot! Filipino!' I lost my voice. Funny, when the game is already under the Gilas control in the 1:30 mark, some cool Lebanese went to our side and roll their drums and chanted Filipino! Filipino! Filipino!

Great game

Games Today (January 15)
Game 1- Zain-Jordan Vs Nassr-UAE (5PM Dubai | 9PM Manila)
Game 2- Gezira-Egypt Vs Wehda-Syria (7PM Dubai | 11PM Manila)
Game 3- Champville-Lebanon Vs Smart Gilas-Philippines (9PM Dubai | 1AM Manila)